top of page
  • Writer's pictureLunay

Making sure your children know their worth.


Ok so I’m going to make a mom post. It’s not entirely pagan related, however I did say that I would write articles about family and activities as well, so here it is. My beautiful step daughter recently made me a cutting board in woodshop at school for Mother’s Day. I love it so much. It’s well made and she put a lot of time and heart into its production.

Now when your kids make something in school that they are proud of, and you are as well, what do you do with it? You preserve it right? You want to keep it forever and cherish it. The last thing you would want is for something to happen to it. Well I got to thinking the other night. I said to myself “I haven’t used my cutting board yet.” Then I said “well I don’t want to ruin it.” Now my daughter put a lot of thought into this project. She told me it was a cutting board knowing very well that that is what it is intended for. She’s expecting me to use it. So last night, for the first time, I did!


It worked great! Now it has some scratches in it and it no longer holds it‘s perfect appearance. But you know what? That’s ok! It’s ok because when my daughter made it, she made it hoping I would use it. She knew very well that it would get scratches and gaps in it.


Now because I actually used the gift she made for me, she feels like what she did was important. It was useful and that she did a great job. Now she will feel more confident in her abilities to be a productive member of society. Because of what she made for me, with her own two hands, it was possible for me to make this fun, mostly healthy, but still kid approved, dinner for my family. Make sure that when your kids “make” something for you, no matter what it is, you make them aware of it’s worth. Use it as it was intended to be used and let them know how grateful you are to have such a creative human being, that thought of a way to make your day to day tasks that much easier.




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 by Lunay Says. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page